Another Great Week! (sent 6/16/14)

Leave a comment

June 24, 2014 by sisterrachelknecht

Dear family and friends,

What. A. Week. It was such a good week, and I feel incredibly humbled
and grateful to be on a mission. I’ll just get it out of the way and
let you all know that I biffed it on my bike. My pride was wounded way
more than anything else. In front of the McDonalds drive thru. We were
going up the driveway and I just hit the curb wrong or something and
the next thing I knew I was on the ground. All of the things in my
ghetto zip-tied basket fell out, and I looked up at the car waiting to
leave and just was so embarrassed. He was really nice and asked if I
was okay. I’m pretty sure I just nodded my head with my huge helmet
on. I bet McDonalds has security footage of it. Needless to say, I’ve
learned a lot of humility.

We rode our bike this whole past week. Saturday we probably rode about
25 miles total. It’s been really fun, really scary at times, and my
legs are all bruised up for some reason. Do I sound like a baby? I may
be, a little, but we have the car this week so that’ll be a nice
little break. I truly have grown in my testimony that the Lord
protects us and watches over us.

We had a really good week. We’ve talked to lots of people, I’ve
experienced a million different emotions about going home, and I’ve
truly grown in love for the people here.

We met this woman named Ivonne, she seemed curious and was willing to
set up a return appointment. We went back on Wednesday and had such a
great Restoration lesson. She’s grown up Catholic, and made it clear
that it would be really hard to change religions, but that she would
be baptized if she knows it’s true. She’s so so great. She’s a little
nervous to learn, but wants to because she feels like something is
missing in her life. She said she had never heard of the church until
recently when her husband started working with a member of the church,
Raul Martinez!! They know Raul and Gladys!! Awesome recent converts in
Madison. So cool. We’re excited to go back and see her and her two
adorable daughters, and hopefully meet her husband soon.

I also met Maria Sanchez, and has only been here in the US
for five years. She’s the cutest thing, and so grown up. She has a
daughter who is so adorable. Maria has such a light about her, and
truly lit up when the Restoration clicked with her. She wants to be
baptized so badly, and we’re working to get the full support of her
mom. She came to church on Sunday for the first time ever. She really
liked it, especially that it was in Spanish, except for Young Women’s
which is in English with the other ward. We have a date of July 5th
for her baptism, and we pray it’ll happen.

There are so many people here that I love, Hermana Calidonio,
Lorena and Giovanni, the Rivera girls. And I even saw
the Ramirez family on Sunday!! We were in an area where some
potential investigators live, and they pulled up in their car! Their
aunt lives in there! Oh my goodness, it was so good to see
them, I love them so much! The boys asked, how come you don’t come
over to jump on the trampoline anymore?! Haha, cute cute boys.

This week will be another great one. We have zone conference and a
Father’s Day activity in the branch, late we know. The work is going
really well, and we have lots of great member support even though the
active members are few. There are so many sweet less actives that
we’re working with too. I just want them to see the potential that
Heavenly Father sees on them!

Family and friends I love you so much! Thank you for everything.

Love,
Hermana Rachel Knecht

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

