So Grateful!

Leave a comment

May 14, 2014 by sisterrachelknecht

Dear family,

Life goes by so fast, and yet moments can last
forever. I have never understood time, nor I have ever been as
grateful for it as I should be. Basically, what I’m trying to say, I’m
sure, is that I miss y’all and hope you’re doing well! It sounds like
you are, especially with new baby girl!! Congratulations Kristen and
Ben. I can’t wait to look for a cute little outfit to buy her here.
She’s going to be the girliest-girl ever. And thanks so so much for
the flowers, they were perfect.

Usually I go through day by day and talk about what happened, but I
think I just want to express a few things that happened this week.

First of all, I am so so grateful for our branch. I feel so incredibly
blessed to be serving here. There are some amazing families. Saturday,
we had a branch service day at one of our member’s homes. He is 93,
from Chile, and just the sweetest man. He’s so active too! But
obviously couldn’t do all the upkeep himself. So we pulled weeds, and
avoided the poison ivy (well, most of us avoided the poison ivy, me
included thankfully), and lots of other yard work. It was so unifying,
more unifying than any party would ever do. A few less actives went as
well, so that was exciting. Then the Elders had a baptism that night
for a 9 year old boy named Pedro. The fire alarm went off during it!
It was definitely memorable. What was most amazing though, was the look
on Pedro’s mom’s face when he got baptized. Such a sweet, sweet young mom.
Three girls and Pedro. And Pedro just glowed and glowed and smiled the
whole time! Believe it or not, even the fire alarm fiasco was unifying.
Because we were all doing things that would bring us closer to Christ,
and doing them together.

We had some great lessons with Raquel. She said that she felt something
different when we met with her the first time. Something so warm,
“like a burning in my chest”. She had prayed too, about what we had
taught and if she should be baptized. She said she had done it in the
past, but never felt anything. She recognized that the answer came this
time because she had a true desire and yearning to know. What does the
Holy Ghost feel like, the first time we’ve truly felt it? Can you
remember? I don’t think I can pinpoint one moment. But I know that I’ve
felt that burning so many times. That’s one of the biggest reasons why
I’m here on a mission, to help others feel the Spirit, and to recognize
it. We are hopeful and prayerful and faithful!

Well today has been a little crazy because Hermana Davis came to
visit! Yay! Super fun, and I feel so blessed. Reminds me that friends
are forever.

Love you all so much.

Love,
Hermana Knecht

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

