Goodlettsville!

Leave a comment

March 18, 2014 by sisterrachelknecht

Dearest family and friends,

I am in Goodlettsville, TN living in a party pad with another set of
sisters! And it has been a CRAZY week! But so much fun, of course.

Tuesday: Transfers, no phone yet, we share a car, but the car’s cigarette
lighter/charger didn’t work so we couldn’t charge Sister Rich’s GPS.
AND the apartment just got exterminated for bed bugs that morning. And
no beds (without bed bugs, that is). Mom, don’t freak out. We got
busted for trying to throw the mattresses in the dumpster and scolded
as well. Told we were contaminated and could have possibly
contaminated the whole apartment complex. We’re not, don’t worry. Then
we went to a member’s house for dinner and we made flautas! Only got
burned by the grease splatters once!

Update: Still no phone, still sharing a car, but the Elders fixed the
cigarette lighter/charger so good on the GPS, no bed bugs, and four
brand new mattresses! We set them up in the living room so it’s always
a slumber party.

And, we just love love love our new area. It’s so nice because we
already knew quite a few of the members and I know the area decently
from coming up to Madison for meetings/church for the past year. So
it’s wonderful. We’ve already found quite a few new investigators and
met a lot of members. And I feel so at home here! The members in the
branch are wonderful, my Spanish is improving so much already, and I
love when we knock on a door and they say “Pasanles”. Oh,
it’s the best thing in the world. Also, I gave a talk on Sunday in the
branch and we taught Young Women’s! And there was a Relief Society
activity that we had an investigator at!

I feel so blessed to be a missionary. I know that I’m a hard worker,
that I love people, and that I love The Lord. Life really is so good,
even though sometimes I get a little discouraged when we’re walking
in the rain, at night, in an area that we’re not familiar with (there’s
quite a few parts of town here that we shouldn’t be in), and without
a phone. But we just sing songs while we walk and I use my cool flashlight
pen to light the way.

Basically, I’m pooped from this week but it’s been so good. I’m
excited for all the things to come, to set some baptismal dates, and
to just work hard! Maybe you’ve seen on my Facebook page, but almost
daily, I get to talk to people from other areas that I just love and
miss. It reminds me that Heavenly Father has had a purpose for me in
each of my areas, and I know He has a purpose for me here.

Sorry that this is so short, but I hope you have a wonderful week. I
know without a doubt that if we put all of our faith and trust in The
Lord, He will guide us and direct us. We have no need to fear! This is
His work and He will not let us fail.

Thank you for all of your emails, I feel so blessed to have so much
support and love.

Love,

Hermana Rachel Knecht

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

