Sunny Days Are Ahead!

Leave a comment

February 27, 2014 by sisterrachelknecht

Dear friends and family,
 
This past week, we got a little glimpse of warm weather and sun. I
loved it. Sure, it resulted in a tornado warning, but that's okay. It
was still so beautiful and I'm waiting to see a tornado, so win win.
We're going to Nashville with Sister Becker today (to go to a
trendy ice cream place, I can't wait to instagram it, oh wait...), so
this email may be a little short. But here are the lessons I learned
this week:
 
I am so blessed to be on a mission. Yes, I'm sure I've learned that
lesson a million times and will continue to learn it. But I just
couldn't deny how blessed I felt this week. We were able to go to the
temple on Wednesday as a zone. Sister Kim Barnes, who just got home
from a mission last week (she went to Hawaii!) went with us. It was so
good to just talk to her about her mission, and to be in the temple.
This past week, I studied about the temple, and how we can take our
burdens there. For some reason, I always try and get rid of my burdens
before I go to the temple. Which makes sense, I want to feel calm when
I go. But, I realized this time that I could take anything that was
weighing me down, and be relieved of it at the temple. And I was!
While in the temple, John 14, 15 called out to me (which I have read
so many times on my mission, but felt like I needed to read it
anyways). The first three verses just got me:
 
1 Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.
2 In my Father's house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would
have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.
3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and
receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.
 (John 14:1-3)
 
I can't put into words exactly how it touched me, or exactly how it
comforted me, but it made me feel light and loved. I felt like I was
given the peace that I needed, but didn't know how to ask for or how
to receive. I am just so blessed, and this just doesn't adequately
describe it!
 
Afterwards, I went on exchanges to Lebanon with Hermana Kepler. Old
companion, old apartment, old area, old car, old members, old
investigators. Oh my goodness, it was so nostalgic! But I prayed to just
focus on being on that exchange with Hermana Kepler. It was a
really good exchange, and I felt so blessed to see some of my favorite
people there. Heavenly Father definitely has blessed me so much to let
me go back into my old area so frequently. And also blessed me to
continue to learn from Hermana Kepler, she's such a solid, on top of
her game, missionary. I definitely look up to her. Lesson learned
here, smells bring back memories so much stronger than anything else.
Okay, other lessons learned too, the measure of your work in an area 
can be measured by the love you have for the people and the love 
they have for you.
 
Lots of other good things happened this week, lots of disappointments,
and lots and lots of learning experiences. One highlight, we met a
family from Honduras. Seriously adorable and seriously so excited to
teach them. Mom, Dad, teenage boy, nine year old girl, and a teenage
cousin. Set up two return appointments for this week and I can't wait
to teach them! Blessings blessings blessings.
 
Love you all so much. And I am so grateful for the blessing it is to
have so much support. I know that I'm not the most positive person
sometimes, not the best at writing, and not the best missionary there
ever was, but I know that I am trying to give the Lord my best
everyday. Love you so much!
 
Love,
Hermana Knecht
Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

