Very Cold, But Very Fun Week!

Leave a comment

February 10, 2014 by sisterrachelknecht

Dear family and friends,

It was a very cold, but a very fun week. I think I’ll probably bullet point this because I’m afraid I’ve already taken too long on email, but I’ll try and be thorough!
Also, Happy Birthday Mom!! I love her so so very much. And Amy’s birthday this Saturday! Happy Birthday! Which is also Hermana Rich’s birthday. Party!
  • Monday: P-day. We stayed in Springfield. It was a fun p-day, but I have to be honest, I get a little stir-crazy.
  • Tuesday: MLC! It was so much fun. We got our iPads, and got a bunch of training on them so that we don’t break them/so that we use them more fully than just watching Mormon Messages. It was a lot of fun, and I got to see Hermana Ayre!! She’s one of the sister training leaders for the McMinnville South Zone. I love her so much. I can’t even describe it. I know that lots of things change, we each have our own experiences, but I truly believe we will always be friends. It was just what I needed.
  • Wednesday: We had some good lessons with some of our favorite people. Kalie and Cyrell and Melissa and her family. It’s going well still. We also had a lesson with a woman named Nancy. She had met sister missionaries about 30 years ago when her first husband was really sick and about to die. She had some very tender, sweet memories of that. The sisters before us met her, but never really got a chance to teach her. So we taught her the first lesson. She’s going through chemo soon, so it’ll be awhile before we can see her, but she continues to be in our prayers.
  • Thursday: Zone meeting! I gave a training on distractions. Our vehicle coordinator gave a training on distractions while driving, so I kinda twisted it around to talk about distractions in our teaching. We did a fun roleplay. There were three missionaries in each group, one was the missionary, one was the “honest seeker of truth” and one was the distraction. Bible bashing, weird personal stories, you name it. They had to try and distract the missionary from teaching about the Book of Mormon and extending the commitment to read and pray to know if it was true. It seemed like the missionaries had a lot of fun, and I felt blessed that Heavenly Father helped me out so much with the training, especially since President and Sister Andersen unexpectedly showed up, which easily could’ve thrown me off guard and made me nervous. But it went well. I mean, we face so many different teaching distractions, it’s ridiculous. It was fun to hear other missionaries’ experiences. Then I went on exchanges with a sister in the zone. She was so sweet, and has been waiting for her visa to Brazil for 7 months. Wow. She’s such a great missionary, and has such a positive, faithful attitude. Our set appointments all bailed, but the day went fine.
  • Friday: It was a little rough. Weekly planning has always been a struggle for me, I hate being in the apartment for three hours, just planning. But it really is so important. It was pretty cold that night, and nobody would let us in. We really struggled with what to do! We ended up only getting into two houses that afternoon and evening. Luckily, Heavenly Father helps you get over that really quickly.
  • Saturday: It was a crazy day! But the highlight was trying to contact a less active, who lives kinda out in the woods. The first thing we saw was a GIANT rocking chair. And then a giant ship on a pond, that was really a cabin. And then some giant toy blocks. All fenced off, and we didn’t end up getting to meet her, but one day, we’ll be back, and I’m going to sit on that giant rocking chair.
  • Sunday: Church! I prayed so hard to be able to keep it together through 6 hours of church. I tend to melt by the end of it. But, it was one of the best Sundays yet! Of course, thanks to Heavenly Father. I felt so grateful and happy to be a missionary, so grateful that three investigators came to church again, and so grateful for the members who show so much love to us. Our branch president had us over for dinner, and that was wonderful. I love love love the Hadley’s. In the summer, they’re session directors for EFY, so they said I should definitely be a counselor. I’ve already thought about it before, so I definitely want to keep that in mind for when I get home!
So that was my week! I’m grateful for what I’ve been learning, especially about love and acceptance. I went through and read “Being Accepted of the Lord” again by Elder Kopischke. Here’s my favorite part:
As we are personally in tune with the Spirit of the Lord and feel His acceptance, we will be blessed above our understanding and bring forth many fruits of righteousness. We will be among those to whom He has said, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.”
Wow. I loved that. I want to work on loving the Lord with all my heart, and feeling of His acceptance. I want to be blessed above my understanding, and bring forth many fruits of righteousness. I want the Lord to say that to me.
Hope you have a wonderful Valentine’s Day week. Love you more than you know.
Love,
Hermana Rachel Knecht
Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

