Last Week Of Transfer

1

October 28, 2013 by sisterrachelknecht

Dear family and friends,

The last week of the transfer is here, and I really cannot believe it. How does time go by so fast? It’s the most beautiful fall day, drizzly morning, gray skies, changed leaves, warm raincoat (thank you Mommy and Daddy!), and I am just feeling like Christmas!

Did that make any sense? That was my poetry for the day. I actually said that in a lesson with an investigator the other day. Her name is Stormy (have I written about her?), and she has an adorable two year old named Caden. Her parents are members, but we just found them looking for former  investigators! She’s fantastic, and they’ve been to church for two weeks in a row, including her parents. Well, we were watching The Restoration movie with her, and afterwards, Sister Kepler and I bore our testimonies. And I said, “don’t you just feel like Christmas?”. Probably not the most conventional thing to say, but it’s how I felt. You just feel the Spirit, so warm, so peaceful, so happy in the moment and not worried about the past or the future.

This past week was wonderful. Sister Kepler and I are getting along really well. We did a ton of knocking this week, and got in the most lessons that we ever have before. It was crazy, but I definitely see that Heavenly Father will work through us as long as we are trying. We met some interesting people, and met a few really nice people that we’re going back to teach.

Tuesday was a leadership meeting for all the zone leaders and district leaders and STLs. It was really fun, and I learned a lot. I just felt so much purpose, and such a desire to serve better as a sister training leader. Still trying to figure out what that entails.

And I am now a Facebook missionary. Struggling with the world of Facebook, so forgive me if I’m off to a slow start.

Though I’ve been in Lebanon for a long time, I truly do love it here so much. I feel like Ammon, I desire to dwell here for the rest of my life! Or however that scripture goes. I wonder if I could just take off the name tag after my mission and just buy a cute little house here. Thinking about going back to BYU is terrifying, actually. So I won’t, for at least 9 more months. I love everyone here, we stopped by the Salazar’s Halloween Star Wars party for dinner (it was adorable) this week, and had such good dinner appointments with all of the members. And we had some really fantastic lessons with a few of our investigators, although baptism doesn’t seem to be in the near future still. Though we faced more rejection than usual (from those we thought were potential investigators…), I just felt so much joy this week in sharing the gospel, no matter what. It’s true, that’s all that matters!

I’m learning a lot about faith here. Faith requires us to let go of fears, and to trust in the Lord. That means being obedient, prayerful, positive. I love the image of the talk from April’s General Conference, “Beautiful Mornings”. There will always be a beautiful morning. That doesn’t mean you have to wait to have joy in that morning. It means you can have joy now, knowing that a beautiful morning will come.

And I’m learning what truly makes me happy and free. I look at things I valued before my mission, things that people value in the world, and it makes me so sad, yet grateful for the testimony I have now. And I know that there is still so much more to learn! I’m excited, and want to continue to be filled with hope and faith. I’m not baptizing like crazy (or at all), I still get nervous to talk to people, I’m definitely not what so many here consider to be a “super-missionary”, BUT, I know that I’m here for a reason! And that Heavenly Father loves me, and that through Christ, I can do all things.

I wish that I could just jot down all the things that happened this week, all the people we met, crazy stories they told us, the lessons we taught and how our investigators are doing. But I really can’t remember all of it! When I come home, we can go through my planners and I guarantee that I’ll remember all of the good ones.

Share the gospel! You’ll never be sorry that you did.

Love,

Hermana Rachel Knecht

One thought on “Last Week Of Transfer

  1. Dagmar says:

    Dear Sister Knecht, I read your digest every week and I wish you could imagine how good it makes me feel. Your words give me strength, and hope, and increases my love for the restored gospel!! Thank you so much! Love. Dagmar Munhoz

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

