Last Week Here in Lebanon?

Leave a comment

September 17, 2013 by sisterrachelknecht

Dear family and friends,

Transfers are coming up! This Saturday night, we’ll find out who stays and who goes? Any guesses?

I’ve been thinking a lot about repentance. One of our investigator’s, a 20 year old girl, has been telling us that she wants to break the pattern she’s in. I may have written that in my last email. As I was reading in Preach My Gospel, it said “Help those you teach see that their lives can be blessed as they see the gospel of Jesus Christ as a pattern for living”. I’m probably not the most consistent person in the world; I’m all over the place, and I’m not great at committing to things, but just reading that, and then teaching her, has made me want to establish a pattern for the rest of my life, which my mission has helped me so much to do so far. I thought about the pattern of faith, repentance, baptism, Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end. One of the biggest catalysts that keeps that pattern going is repentance, I think. As we’ve been teaching her about this pattern and repentance especially, I’ve come to learn that I need to understand repentance more, and consistently repent.

Reading in True to the Faith is my new favorite thing. I wish it had like 500 pages. I guess I can pick up Mormon Doctrine after the mission when I have a little more free time. But what I loved about it today as I was studying about repentance was the way it described godly sorrow. Feeling sorrow for our sins and a true desire to change, not out of fear or as a natural consequence to sin, but out of love for Heavenly Father and acknowledgment that we have displeased Him. Wow, I had never understood godly sorrow before. Anyways. I just love love. Love is everything.

Anyways, we’ve had some really cool experiences contacting people from the fair! It’s been so fun to explore the little towns in our ward; we really want to start FHE groups in those towns. We love feeling overwhelmed with work. We contacted this one woman who lives in Watertown who had the coolest house ever, seriously. Cute and quirky and eclectic and I felt like I was at the beach. Of course she didn’t even have to try to make it that cute. That’s going in my memory bank for after the mission for my future home.

We really hope that Mauricio will be baptized soon, and that Maria and Armando will be baptized soon, too. One of the English Elders’ investigators is getting baptized this Saturday; she’s been one of our good friends too so we’re so excited for her.

This next week, I’m praying that the Lord will use me as His instrument. I want to show Him that He can trust me, and that I’ll have the faith necessary for Him to work miracles. I believe in miracles. I want to show the Lord that I will not shrink or detract from my calling, that I will be a bold representative of Jesus Christ.

Love y’all and hope you’re enjoying the fall weather! If it’s fall where you’re at. The weather has been cooling down here, beautiful blue skies, clouds, and breezes. “All things denote that there is a God”!

Love,

Hermana Rachel Knecht

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

