This Past Week

Leave a comment

August 7, 2013 by sisterrachelknecht

Dear family and friends,

It’s the last week of the transfer and I’m feeling a little off; will I get transferred? Will our investigators be taken care of if I do get transferred? If I stay, what more do I need to do and learn? I guess I’ll find out Saturday!

Oh transfers, it’s a feeling I don’t think I could ever really describe. But it doesn’t overshadow that this past week was another great week. Yeah, full of ups and downs, but it was a great week. Maria and Mauricio officially want to be baptized. And they showed up to church for the third week in a row!! They are so sweet, and I have so much love for them. On Thursday, Brother Salazar and the Elders came over, and we talked to Maria and Mauricio about baptism; the covenant we make with God, the blessings of baptism, how Christ was baptized, etc. It was a really sweet, simple discussion. Maria is such a sweet woman, and really wants this for her whole family. And Armando, Maria’s boyfriend, is such a sweet guy too. Fasting and prayer, and it’ll all fall into place.

Bryce, a 9 year old boy, will be getting baptized this Friday! We taught him at his grandmother’s house, who is an active member, and the whole family is so excited for him. We’re really excited for him too. And I really like playing Kinects with him at his grandma and grandpa’s house.

Things are looking up with a few of our investigators. Whenever I get discouraged, I just try to remind myself of how blessed I am to have the gospel, and to have the opportunity to share it with Heavenly Father’s children as a full time missionary. Seriously, I look at what I could be doing instead of this, and every time I do, I immediately feel the Spirit testifying to me that I need to be here. I love being a missionary; I think it’s like with family. You’ll always love your family, but sometimes you won’t always like them. Other days, your family can be your best friend. Actually, that’s exactly what a mission is like.

Sometimes I wish I could say to people, don’t you understand what this is? This is the true and living church of Christ, with all the blessings of the priesthood and temples, and a living prophet. What doesn’t make sense about that? Why won’t you just drop everything in your life and accept this gospel? And then I ask myself those same questions. It’s a work in progress for everyone. Oh missions. Jake, I know exactly what you meant in your email, and I’m sure the rest of my life will only make me weepier.

I just try a little harder to be a little better every day. Love y’all so so much.

Love,

Hermana Rachel Knecht

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

