A Testimony of Prayer – July 22, 2013 Letter

Leave a comment

July 29, 2013 by sisterrachelknecht

Dear family and friends,

It was a great week. Seriously, I felt like I was on fire. I think Sister Ayre had to hold me back at times, I was just so set on getting down to business with people. Yes, I love chatting and eating yummy Mexican food, but this is salvation. This is the most important thing I could give you, so y’all best take it seriously.

I seriously love our investigators so much, and I just felt this incredible desire to work harder for them this past week. Heavenly Father wants these people to come unto the truth and be baptized, and that knowledge gave me so much hope this past week, and will carry me for the rest of my mission if I rely on the Lord and have faith in Him.

I forgot my planner at home, woops, so I can’t remember everything, but, this week we had some really great lessons. We’re teaching a woman named Patricia, and we were able to teach her twice this week, once with Diana Dickerson who just returned home from her mission. Patricia is so sweet, so serious about what we teach her, and just ready. She’s ready. I don’t think we’ve had a better experience teaching The Restoration than we did with her.

We were able to teach Reina and her husband, and that was a really sweet experience. You could just see how happy she was to have him sharing in what she’s learning as well. We had another lesson, just with her, and it was a very sweet experience. We talked to her about baptism, and with it in the forefront of her mind, I know she’ll be baptized soon. And I’m so happy for that, for her. And her two boys got some super cute haircuts/mohawks. We just love them so much.

Maria and Mauricio were able to come to church on Sunday! We had taught them once that week, about the gospel of Jesus Christ, and committed them to coming to church. She said she wanted to, but needed to discuss it with her husband. We left, determined to find him at his local hangout spot, drove past, didn’t see him, said a prayer, drove past again and Sister Ayre very boldly yelled out to the two guys on the front porch. They went inside to look for him, and he came outside! Ahh, what a miracle. So I ran up and asked him if he would like to come to church, said he was busy, but that Maria and Mauricio could come. So we ran back to Maria’s and told her! And she was so happy, and Mauricio was excited. And they both looked great in Sunday dress! I live for moments like those.

I truly did gain such a testimony of prayer this week. And Heavenly Father truly strengthened and blessed me so much.

Anddddd…last night at our meeting with our ward mission leader, we got a text from Kathryn Dailey (McKayla’s mom) that Adam said he wanted to be baptized! We were so thrilled! Seriously, I can’t wait to see him be baptized, and then sealed in the temple in a year. We love their family so much, and Adam is such an active member of the church already, and we’re excited to see him take this step. What a blessing for their family.

Well, love y’all more than you know. I can’t believe that it’s been over six months that I’ve been on a mission, and I can’t believe all the things I’ve done and seen, all the friends I’ve made, all the things I’ve learned. Being on a mission is probably the hardest, most fun, most rewarding thing I’ve ever done. As we were able to teach the Young Women’s Laurel class on Sunday, I just felt so blessed to be able to see the progress and change in my life that the Lord has helped me make since I was their age. Where would I be without this mission, without this gospel? I have no idea, and it only gives me more motivation to help others make that change in their lives as well.

The Lord lives, and loves us. It is never too late to change, to be better. He’s just waiting for us to come unto Him, and then second we do, He will strengthen us and lift us up.

Love you love you love you all. “You’re better than you know” – President Hinckley and my dad.

Love,

Hermana Rachel Knecht

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

