I’m staying here in Lebanon!

1

May 20, 2013 by sisterrachelknecht

Dearest family and friends,

I’m here for another transfer in Lebanon! Hermana Ayre and I will be receiving another companion, Hermana Idso (she was in my district in the MTC!) so we’re pretty excited to be a trio! Hna Idso is so sweet, we can’t wait!

Oh my goodness, it’s so hard to remember everything that happens in a week. But, what I have learned this week is that, it would be so easy to go through your whole mission without ever doing anything. Wouldn’t that be sad? We’ve been teaching a lot of investigators about the Plan of Salvation, which has made me think about how this life is truly the time to prepare to meet God. Would I be prepared today to meet Him? If I ended my mission today, would I be happy with the way I’ve served? I’m pretty hard on myself, but in all honesty, I think I would probably go home knowing that I could’ve done so much more. Which is really scary actually. So my advice to my friends preparing to go on a mission; just work hard and forget about everything else! It’s really not worth it to dwell on the past or to think too far ahead in the future (basically, keep your mind on the work, everyday!). At least for these 18 months or two years. I know that by striving to do this, I’ll recognize the Lord’s hand in my life more often, and I’ll be a lot happier too.

I’m so excited for this upcoming transfer. This past transfer went by so quickly, and I’m more determined than ever to set goals and meet them. There is so much potential in our investigators, and in order to help them progress, I know I need to show the Lord that He can trust me to be an instrument in His hands.

It’s really beautiful here. So much country and woods. And ticks. Saturday night and Sunday morning we had huge thunderstorms. Hna Ayre and I woke up around 5:45 Sunday morning to a hugeeeee noise. We’re pretty sure that lightning struck really close because the thunder was incredibly loud, so much louder than I’ve ever heard before!

We’ve been teaching an 11 year old named McKayla (I don’t know if I mentioned her before) whose mom, Kathryn is a member and whose stepdad Adam is attending church and is halfway through the Book of Mormon. Yesterday we taught the Plan of Salvation at McKayla’s grandpa’s house, his name is Brother Fowler. He made us cowboy sandwiches and we sat around the table and talked. It was so much fun. They’re such a wonderful family. McKayla wants to get baptized, but isn’t sure of a date yet. She’s so fun, and we feel so blessed to be able to be teaching her.

While knocking in a trailer park the other day, we met Elouisa. She’s 17 and such a cute girl. Her family speaks Misteco, but she of course is fluent in English. I think her mom knows English and Spanish too. Anyways, we got to know her this past Saturday, and we ended up teaching her the Plan of Salvation. Her father was killed about 10 years ago, and she works almost 30 hours a week (while finishing her senior year in high school) in order to help support her family. She’s so amazing, and we’re excited to teach her more. We know that through the blessings of the gospel, she’ll be able to attend college like she wants to (as well as receive all the other blessings of the gospel too, of course!).

I hope all is well there! I pray for you by name everyday and know that your prayers are strengthening me.

Love you love you love you,
Hermana Rachel Knecht

One thought on “I’m staying here in Lebanon!

  1. Jan and Charlie French says:

    Hrmna Knect, we are so excited to hear of your wonderful missionary experiences. We love you so much and are so happy for your integrity in representing Vacaville. Please be safe in the midst of this extreme weather. We are praying for you. Love Jan and Charlie French.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

