How do you know that the Lord is hastening His work?

Leave a comment

April 8, 2013 by sisterrachelknecht

…He sends a 19 year old to train a new missionary and open a new area!
Dearest family and friends,
It has been a crazy week, that’s for sure! First of all, I’m getting transferred to Lebanon! It’s a town east of here, a little more out in the country I think (well, that’s what the members here say, “you mean out there, with the cows?”). We’ll be the first Spanish speaking hermanas in their Spanish group, and President McKee’s goal is to build the group into a branch! I’m super excited and nervous, but I know the Lord will qualify me. Also, I’ll be training a new missionary! After six weeks, the Lord has called me to be a trainer! Truly, the Lord is hastening His work (thank you for your prayers, I need them!). I feel so grateful to be a part of missionary work at this time!
Last Tuesday was a hoot. Oh my! Hna McCalvy went to zone leader conference, so last minute (after transportation fell through), an English speaking sister from Smyrna came to Buena Vista for the day while her companion went to ZLC too. With no plans, and only five weeks of experience in the mission field for both of us, we had quite the day! Really, nothing too exciting happened, except for the sherriff telling us it wasn’t safe to be in a certain neighborhood. Sorry, sherriff, but we have investigators and members that live over here! Sherriff: What are y’all doing over here? Us: We’re missionaries! (not just young white girls wearing church clothes, silly) Sherriff: I’m sorry, I respect what you do, but it’s not safe to be over here! Us: Okay, thank you! (thank you officer, but we don’t have a car. We really have no way to get out of the neighborhood faster). Apparently there had been quite the ordeal down the street, something with a drug deal, etc. It was pretty fun because Sister Johnson had never been in quite as rough neighborhoods before, or had ever walked on the side of the road, or tried crossing main intersections, during heavy traffic hours.
Because conference was that weekend, we prayed on Wednesday that we would have the opportunity to invite five people to conference, without having to knock doors. We figured, why not be specific! And what a miracle it was! We didn’t invite five, but we invited three people to conference and talked to them about the Gospel. Without having to knock any doors! As we were walking up this trail thingy behind another apartment complex, lots of trees, probably homeless people live in there, and I’m pretty sure only little kids use that path, two men called down from one of the apartments. Yeah, yeah, sounds sketchy, but they asked for a Book of Mormon! Hna McCalvy and I were like, umm, of course! So we went around and they walked outside and we talked to them for awhile. They said they had talked to elders before, and wanted to get a copy of the Book of Mormon. So we gladly gave them both copies!
Thursday, we spent most of the day in a conference for the Spanish speaking missionaries. It was so much fun. Good food, good talks, and so good to see everyone! I was so excited to see Hna Knight!! Ahhhh! Seriously. Love her so much and she gave me some yummy treats from Trader Joe’s that her mom sent her. And I’m getting transferred to the same zone as her so that’ll be fun!
Friday, we got to go to the temple because Liz was doing baptisms for the first time! It was such a wonderful experience, and although we couldn’t actually participate, it was such a blessing to see Liz in the temple. She is just so special, and I feel so grateful to be a part of her life!
Saturday was conference, and a friend of one of our members, Hna Chacon, came to the church to watch the afternoon session! We think she lives out of our area, but it was a blessing that she could listen to the prophet and his apostles. I’m not sure what’s going to happen with her, if she’ll progress or not, but I know that the Spirit was there and I hope she felt it too.
And then I threw up Saturday night and Sunday morning…I’m feeling a lot better now though! The Elders were so great and gave me a blessing and brought over Gatorade and Sprite. I was able to watch both sessions on Sunday (we watched all of them in Spanish except for Sunday morning, so I’m definitely going to need to go back and read them in English…) though, even though I may have been completely knocked out at a less active’s house during the last session. Their couch was just so comfy, it was really warm, I was feeling pretty sick…excuses, I know.
Being a missionary is seriously so wonderful. I don’t know what I’m doing half the time, so to rely on the Lord this much has been such a growing experience, and I’ve seen so many blessings from striving to do His will. As this next transfer starts, I know I’ll need His help more than ever. I’m nervous and excited, so it’s sometimes hard to feel at peace. But I know that as I strive to do His will, I will feel His guidance and direction, and peace.
Love you all so much and am so grateful for your support and prayers. Hope all is well at home! And if I can’t write today, it’s because I’m packing! Things are just a little busy, but I’ll do my best. Love love love love love you.
Love,
Hermana Knecht

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

