Semana de Milagros!

1

March 18, 2013 by sisterrachelknecht

That’s what we wanted to call this past week!
And did we see miracles? I think so. I believe miracles happen alllll the time. Everyday is a blessing, to be able to serve the Lord.
I won’t go into too much detail with my week, but I just wanted to share what I’ve already written some of you about. As I’ve been trying to be more like Christ, to be a representative of Him, I’ve found that I’m so much happier and confident with who I am. Rather than try to define who I am by outside things (clothes, image, etc), I’ve truly found myself by trying to lose myself in the work. I know that sounds a little vague, but I know that our potential is so much greater than we can imagine. We are here on this earth to become more like Christ, to return to live with Him and our Heavenly Father. We can become so much more through Christ, than what we think we can become based on our own, very worldly, efforts. It’s been amazing to see in my own life, and in the lives of others.
Obedience is a huge part of this. In this month’s Ensign, there’s a talk by Elder D. Todd Christofferson entitled, “You are Free”. We truly are free to choose good or bad, to follow Christ or Satan. But, true freedom- greater knowledge and light, and power and blessings, and the freedom to become the person God knows we can be- can only come through obedience.
This work is so amazing. It’s amazing to be an instrument in the Lord’s hands. Hermana McCalvy and I have been teaching Irma, and she knows that this gospel is true! She can testify that she’s felt the Spirit. We haven’t had an opportunity to teach her family yet, but I know that they’re just another miracle waiting to happen- in the Lord’s timing of course.
Oh, the Lord’s timing. Kristen, that talk you sent me was great. It’s all about His timing. Hermana McCalvy and I have to constantly remind ourselves of this. This week, we were struggling to know if the direction we were taking with missionary work in this area was the right one. It just felt too simple; working with the members and less actives, that must be too easy right? But, we prayed about it and the answer is, of course working with members is the right direction! Knocking on doors is good, but working with members and their missionary work is better. Satan will try and discourage you anyway he can; not simply to just do bad, but to be less effective and less productive.
In the talk from last conference entitled, “What Shall a Man Give in Exchange for His Soul?” “Satan need not get everyone to be like Cain or Judas … ,” said Elder Neal A. Maxwell. “He needs only to get able men … to see themselves as sophisticated neutrals. ”There is no neutral in the gospel. This isn’t just church on Sunday, this is Heavenly Father’s plan for all of His children! I love Jacob 1:8, “but that all men would believe in Christ, and view his death, and suffer his cross and bear the shame of the world.” It’s not enough to just not be bad. We must “believe in Christ, suffer His cross, and bear the shame of the world”.
Oh family and friends. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your support. Your letters and prayers mean so much to me. If I could, I would write each one of you back each p-day. I don’t have that much time, but if I did, I would do it!
Tennessee is beautiful. It was so warm this past weekend, but thunderstorms today. I’m hoping for a tornado! On the way to church and back yesterday, we counted about twenty different churches. It’s amazing how many people here love and want to serve Christ; and it’s amazing how many different ways the truth can be skewed, as evident by how many different churches there are. So many people are looking for the truth, and it is all of our responsibilities to declare, with joy, the truth to them.
Love you all, and as one sweet lady in Walmart said, “Everyday is good! Somedays are just better than others”. It’s da truth.
Love,
Hermana Knecht

One thought on “Semana de Milagros!

  1. Donna Suchoski says:

    You’re doing a FABULOUS job! I love reading of your experiences.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

