Happy Valentine’s Day!

1

February 14, 2013 by sisterrachelknecht

Happy Valentine’s Day! I don’t know if any of you knew this, but Valentine’s Day is my favorite holiday. I just LOVE LOVE. Hermana Schmit and I are wearing our heart earrings from Amy (twinners! Thank you!)
Once again, I feel like it was just p-day. Where does the time go?
My goals for this week were (and basically should be goals for my whole life):
Be kind. Be forgiving. Be hopeful!
I’ve never been particularly good at any three of those (as some of you probably know, and for that, I hope you can forgive me!) and I’m trying to really work on it, with the Lord’s help!
This Sunday, Mark J. Lusvardi spoke at our fireside. He talked about having sincere friendship and love for those we share the Gospel with, and just everyone. He told us to ask ourselves the question, “Do I love His children enough to testify of the Savior and His restored gospel?” D&C 12:8. Which reminds me of a thought that both Amanda Dye (holla girl!) and our speaker on Tuesday, Gregory A. Schwitzer of the Seventy shared. Take the risk, talk to everyone about the Gospel! It’s my calling to share the restored gospel, to give of myself and put my fears behind me! I’ll definitely need to remember this in TN.
Speaking of TN…10 DAYS. I’m so excited.
Jenny Jimenez, who used to live in our ward, wrote me! It was so so good to hear from her! She lives in my mission in Clarksville (Kacie B from the Bachelor lives there too woot woot!). Here’s just a little part of her Dear Elder to me “There is a small Spanish branch here that we actually were called to for a few months, there are some really great people in that branch. There are awesome people here waiting to be taught and have their lives changed! Well I just wanted to tell you that you already have some friends here in TN! I know you will do great”!
It was so exciting to hear that. I can’t wait, and I just want to work harder and know I need to be more prepared and a more worthy instrument in the Lord’s hands. Sometimes it makes me feel so inadequate to know I have so much to work on, but I know that the Lord will help me and strengthen me! I’m on the right path and doing His work.
I’m excited to see Hillary! There are so many new missionaries every Wednesday, and Hermana Schmit and I love to see them arrive.
Thank you all so much for your love and packages and letters! They make me smile and laugh and cry.
Hermana Schmit and I always use 2 Nephi 31-33 when teaching. Such great, great chapters. It’s the whole doctrine and gospel of Christ in those chapters. So “plain and simple” but so powerful. Thank you for the post-it notes! I use those all the time to mark scriptures (which I love love love reading, did I mention that? Also, I suggest studying Preach My Gospel daily as part of scripture study. I know I will after my mission).
Tell the Beauchamp’s thank you for me!
Love you all! So grateful for your prayers, and know that you’re in mine!
Hermana Rachel Knecht
LOVE YOU ALL!

One thought on “Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. Donna Suchoski says:

    Love hearing and reading about how you are doing! My prayers are with you. LOVE, Donna Suchoski

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

