1

January 24, 2013 by sisterrachelknecht

Well, I made it to p-day! I’ve officially been here for one full week! And a day. First of all, I am so so grateful for all of your letters.
Overall, this experience so far has been so amazing. Even though the days are long and we’re constantly studying or doing something, I just lay in bed and think “I am so blessed to be here.” This past week, I’ve experience some of the happiest moments of my life so far, and I know that I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else right now. I’ve learned so much from my teacher Hermano Zuzunaga. He’s from Peru and only speaks in Spanish. Although I don’t understand everything he says, I’ve learned so much about the Gospel and about coming unto Christ. He’s truly an amazing teacher.
I feel like this schedule pushes you to your limits, but truly strengthens your faith in Christ. It’s amazing how every hour has a purpose, and that purpose is to come unto Christ, and to help others come unto Christ. I love my district, we’re all learning together and getting to know each other. My companion is Hermana Schmit. She’s 22 and from Washington, and such a great example to me of obedience. We get along so well, and are in tune with each other through the Spirit. I know that these companionships in our district were inspired!
The MTC is such a unique place. Our district consists of six companionships, half elders, half hermanas. Three of the elders are 18 and three of the hermanas (including me) are 19, which is pretty cool because we’re some of the first missionaries as a result of the age change. I’ve learned so much from my district. Everyone’s testimony helps to strengthen mine, and I can already see growth in them and in me.
Spanish is coming along! Although I hesitate to write in any because my grammar is awful. BUT I’ve been doing pretty good, thanks to the Spirit. I pray all the time, because I know I could never do this on my own.
On Sunday, Sister Rosemary Wixom spoke to us for Relief Society (it’s like General Conference every Sunday and Tuesday). I loved her talk so much. That night, the new MTC presidency spoke to us, and on Tuesday, we heard from Elder David F. Evans of the Seventy. Faith, when acted upon, truly brings miracles.
I feel my Savior’s love so strongly here. And, I’m beginning to truly feel that love for everyone around me. Of course, this experience has been really hard. It pushes you to your emotional and spiritual and mental and physical (did I name all of them yet?) limits, but it’s been worth it. I know that things will only get harder in the mission field, but I’m so excited to continue to serve the Lord and His children. I know that someone in the Tennessee Nashville Mission is waiting to hear the Gospel from me. Alma 28, in my journeyings, I’ll experience sorrows and afflictions, but I’ll also experience incomprehensible joy. As I try to lose myself in service, I know that the Lord will bless me with everything I need to be an instrument in his hands.
I’ve been receiving your Dear Elders and letters, and I’m so grateful for them. I think of you always, but I know that this is where I’m supposed to be.
Love,
Hermana Knecht
Besos y abrazos!

One thought on “

  1. I’m so glad she’s loving it there! She will be an awesome missionary.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

